

Mater Research Limited Level 3, Aubigny Place, Raymond Terrace, South Brisbane Qld 4101

materresearch.org.au

## Statement of Compliance with the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research 2023 (National Statement)

## National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research Section 5.1.30 Minimum membership of an HREC:

**5.1.30** The minimum membership of an HREC is eight and must include the following categories:

- a chairperson, with suitable experience, including previous membership of an HREC, whose other responsibilities will not impair the HREC's capacity to carry out its obligations under this National Statement;
- two people, who bring a broader community or consumer perspective and who have no paid affiliation with the institution;
- a person with knowledge of, and current experience in, the professional care or treatment of people; for example, a nurse, counsellor or allied health professional;
- a person who performs a pastoral care role in a community including but not limited to, an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander elder or community leader, a chaplain or a minister of religion or other religious leader;
- a qualified lawyer, who may or may not be currently practicing and, where
  possible, is not engaged to advise the institution on research-related or any other
  matters; and
- two people with current research experience that is relevant to research proposals to be considered at the meetings they attend.

## The current committee is constituted according to the National Statement, Section 5.1.30:

Name	Category	Male/Female	Hospital Affiliation
Professor Ross Pinkerton	(a) – Chairperson	Male	Yes
Ms Odette Petersen	(b) – Lay member (Deputy Chairperson)	Female	No
Mr John Larkin	(b) – Lay member	Male	No
Ms Genevieve Waldie	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Lucy Lai	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Maree Patane	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Professor Sailesh Kumar	(c) – Practitioner	Male	Yes
A/Professor Simon Bowler	(c) – Practitioner	Male	Yes
Dr Ravi Pillai	(c) – Practitioner	Male	Yes
Ms Alanna Jacoby	(d) – Pastoral Care	Female	Yes
Ms Courtney Coyne	(e) – Lawyer	Female	No
Ms Katrina Chambers	(e) – Lawyer	Female	No
A/Prof Adam Ewing	(f) – Researcher	Male	Yes
Dr Bridget Pratt	(f) – Lecturer	Female	No
A/Professor Simon Denny	(f) – Researcher	Male	Yes
Professor Michael Kimlin	(f) – Researcher (Deputy Chairperson)	Male	No