

Mater Research Limited Level 3, Aubigny Place, Raymond Terrace, South Brisbane Qld 4101

materresearch.org.au

Statement of Compliance with the National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (2007), updated 2018 (National Statement)

National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research Section 5.1.30 minimum membership:

- a chairperson, with suitable experience, whose other responsibilities will not impair the HREC's capacity to carry out its obligations under this National Statement;
- at least two lay people, one man and one woman, who have no affiliation with the institution and do not currently engage in medical, scientific, legal or academic work;
- at least one person with knowledge of, and current experience in, the professional care, counselling or treatment of people; for example, a nurse or allied health professional;
- at least one person who performs a pastoral care role in a community, for example, an Aboriginal elder, a minister of religion;
- at least one lawyer, where possible one who is not engaged to advise the institution; and
- at least two people with current research experience that is relevant to research
 proposals to be considered at the meetings they attend. These two members may
 be selected, according to need, from an established pool of inducted members
 with relevant expertise.

Version: July 2021

The current committee is constituted according to the National Statement, Section 5.1.30:

Name	Category	Male/Female	Hospital Affiliation
Professor Ross Pinkerton	(a) – Chairperson	Male	Yes
Mr Kevin Hedges	(b) – Lay member (Deputy Chairperson)	Male	No
Mr John Larkin	(b) – Lay member	Male	No
Ms Odette Petersen	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Genevieve Waldie	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Lucy Lai	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Rosie Kelly	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Ms Maree Patane	(b) – Lay member	Female	No
Dr Mohamed Shanavas	(c) – Practitioner	Male	Yes
Professor Sailesh Kumar	(c) – Practitioner	Male	Yes
Dr Felicity Murphy (on leave)	(c) – Practitioner	Female	Yes
Ms Melissa Elliott	(c) – Physiotherapist	Female	No
Ms Alanna Jacoby	(d) – Pastoral Care	Female	Yes
Ms Courtney Coyne	(e) – Lawyer	Female	No
Ms Katrina Chambers	(e) – Lawyer	Female	No
Dr Adam Ewing	(f) – Researcher	Male	Yes
A/Professor Kristen Gibbons	(f) – Statistician	Female	Yes
Dr Judy Munday	(f) – Lecturer, Researcher	Female	No
Dr Mary-Anne Ramis	(f) – Researcher	Female	Yes
Ms Susanne Chaffey	(f) – Clinical Nurse, Study Coordinator	Female	Yes
Ms Sonia Hancock	(f) - Research Compliance MS HHS	Female	No
A/Professor Simon Bowler	(f) – Researcher	Male	Yes